Wednesday Write-in #89

wednesday logo

Welcome to the Wednesday Write-in!

Welcome to the Wednesday Write-in. This event runs every week to help any and all writers take control of their productivity and imaginations. Please join in; we’d love to read your work.

Prompts

disown  ::  doldrums  ::  narrow  ::  curse  ::  assemble

Guidelines

There are no rules, but here are some guidelines:

  • Use the prompts as inspiration or try to work them into your story somehow. Use as many as you want.
  • When your story is done, post it online (your blog/twitter/in a comment here), tag with #wednesdaywritein if you like, and comment with a link so we can read it.
  • Please take the time to read and comment on as many other stories as you have time for (but we won’t shout at you if you don’t).
  • If you want to write a poem, a script, or something completely different, feel free.

Get Involved

Look for us on Facebook or Twitter to keep up with the write-ins, or click the follow button to get blog updates.

Any questions? Otherwise, have fun writing!

29 thoughts on “Wednesday Write-in #89

    • I like the idea of the exchange of letters

      and the crisp sentences

      He flung my work upon the flames. It is ash, as am I.

      and the father’s top hand being as obtrusively recognised as a splash of blood on a wedding dress

      Excellent, reminded me of William Boyd

      Roy

  1. Luck
    It was a long time ago, but I remember it well. Mind, I was only a lad. It was the bird that did for us. But I’m getting ahead of myself. I must start at the beginning.
    I’d always lived near the coast and the smell of the sea was in my blood. My father was a hard man and disowned me on account of some trouble I’d got myself into. I had to find work to support myself, so I hung around the docks until I found a vessel to take me on.
    They were a good crew on the Mary Jane under Captain Dixon. He was a fair man, and the others were alright too. I was just the cabin boy and Cook’s favourite. He’d always slip me an extra ration if he could.
    Anyway, this particular day we were heading for port when the wind stilled. We were left well and truly in the doldrums. Nothing for it but to wait for a breeze. Trouble was we were out of provisions as we had been thrown off course by a storm out on the open ocean, and we’d banked on getting to dry land three days before now. We were all hungry. Captain Dixon flung a curse to the heavens but it was no good.
    The curse did something though. It brought the bird. An albatross, scourge of sailors. Some folks were superstitious about it but the captain said that was stupid. Everyone assembled on deck as it swooped down taunting us. On a low pass someone caught it in a net and wrung its neck with one swift movement.
    Cook took it to the galley without delay and soon everyone had a bowl of food, just something to fill their empty bellies. I got a big staring eye in mine and somehow I couldn’t eat it, hungry as I was. Remember, I was only a boy and still had some foolish squeamishness about me.
    That afternoon the wind picked up and filled our sails again. Good luck we thought. We had to navigate a narrow strait lined with cruel rocks before we could enter the calm waters of the harbour. Within sight of land there a sudden squall which dashed our craft onto the rock. I was thrown into the water and managed to cling onto a plank until help came.
    But I was the only one with any luck that day.

  2. Pingback: Popping the Cushy Bubble – Cake.shortandsweet Wednesday Write-in #89 | www.ginabriganti.com

    • Hi, I enjoyed readinG yours except for what seemed to be quIrks of your typing!!
      I wouldN’t have been a candidAte for MI6!

      • Devices like those hidden messages can bring out the proofreader in any of us. Thank you for reading, Elaine. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  3. Hi everyone,
    Just a quickie for the sake of participation; it’s been too long. Hope to have more time next week.
    I curse as I attempt to assemble the words on the page into a coherent story. The slice of time available to me is too narrow to craft a beginning, middle and end. I won’t let it get me down, it is what it is. The doldrums is a place I refuse to visit, a path I will not roam. Despite my urges to disown my words, I’ll embrace my efforts and share my tale. It’s all part of the journey

  4. Here is my contribution, please read as though you were offering your advice to a group of grumpy old grand parents

    Roy

    Prompts Cakes #89 30th April 2014-04-30
    disown :: doldrums :: narrow :: curse :: assemble

    Prodigal Parents

    Some parents attempt to live their children’s lives for them. The excuse is that the kids are young and they want the best for them; they suffer from a typically middle class malaise, the ‘all the things I never had’ syndrome. The self satisfied parents only start to question their advice as their spoiled offspring hurtle into dissolute behaviour in their early teens from which they are completely unable to revert. The kids have got used to being the finest example of the ‘noble savage’ as their parents stand back proud of their children’s fearless attitude to life. In fact they are encouraging selfish hedonism in vulnerable juniors. They mistakenly believed that discipline destroys creativity and hence blocks the path to happiness; whereas it is entirely the opposite. Self discipline is a basic requirement for the acquisition of knowledge, recognition and appreciation of beauty and a determination to be a citizen of a caring society. The bastion of authority has been demolished by incompetence and lassitude; they have directed their loved ones down a narrow spiralling path into despair and dissatisfaction; inflicting them with the curse of self indulgence and condemning them to a lifestyle in the doldrums of superficial existence. When the parents find they have to look after these feckless adults, they assemble all the objections they ought to have had when the children might have been receptive; so they disown them and fail completely when they abandon their responsibilities entirely.
    They might be forgiven if they could only return to their children and ask forgiveness; what chance? They acquire the disease of middle age with the complaint; I gave them everything and look how they repay me..

    • How true – I blame the parents!! And I expect history will repeat itself when these children become parents themselves.

      • Perhaps the best training to become a good parent is some experience of a bad one.

        Thanks for all your help

        Roy

    • I have a brother who feels this way about my children’s generation. You’ve presented yet another interesting take on the same prompt. I can see the lecture taking place in my mind’s eye.

Leave a Reply

