Wednesday Write-in #80

wednesday logo

Welcome to the Wednesday Write-in!

Welcome to the Wednesday Write-in. This event runs every week to help any and all writers take control of their productivity and imaginations. Please join in; we’d love to read your work.

Prompts

character  ::  underwear  ::  race  ::  flower pot  ::  grind

Guidelines

There are no rules, but here are some guidelines:

  • Use the prompts as inspiration or try to work them into your story somehow. Use as many as you want.
  • When your story is done, post it online (your blog/twitter/in a comment here), tag with #wednesdaywritein if you like, and comment with a link so we can read it.
  • Please take the time to read and comment on as many other stories as you have time for (but we won’t shout at you if you don’t).
  • If you want to write a poem, a script, or something completely different, feel free.

Get Involved

Look for us on Facebook or Twitter to keep up with the write-ins, or click the follow button to get blog updates.

Any questions? Otherwise, have fun writing!

27 thoughts on “Wednesday Write-in #80

  1. Hello, all…

    I posted a story to my blog earlier using different prompt words (oar, guarantee, napkin, silo and slippers); I’ll try to do another story with the prompts above, just for fun.

    If anyone wants to visit my other story, you can find it here:

    The Bearers

    If I manage to get to a second story, I’ll post a link here too.

    Happy Wednesday!

    SJ

  2. Pingback: Bike | patrickprinsloo

  3. Fred
    Fred was quite a character, he must have been at least 80 and came into the club every Friday afternoon, regular as clockwork, to watch the girls in their sequinned underwear doing the old bump and grind routine. He always sat at the table near the front and nursed the same drink the whole time. The girls got quite fond of him and always gave him a special wink when they were dancing and had a little chat between shows. It must have made his day. No-one knew where he came from, but he always looked a bit down-at-heel and arrived short of breath as if he had been running a race.
    One day he came in gasping as usual and brought a carrier bag with him which he held carefully on his lap until it was his usual time to leave. Then he beckoned me over and handed me the bag. Inside was the most beautiful orchid I’d ever seen albeit in a fairly grotty flower pot.
    ‘Thank you,’ he said. ‘I won’t be back; they’re sending me to a nursing home in the country. But I wanted to thank all you lovely girls who have given me such joy.’
    Our clients’ appreciation didn’t normally extend to flowers and I was touched. I gave him a little kiss goodbye and he shuffled away. Then I spotted the cheque in the bottom of the bag and read the amount. I couldn’t believe the noughts! I raced outside as a big chauffeur-driven Rolls was pulling away with Fred in the back seat. So I was never able to thank him properly.
    He was a reaI gent and I often wonder what happened to him. I hope if he’s passed on he’ll be sitting on a comfy cloud with a glass in his hand surrounded by exotic dancing angels.

  4. Hi everyone,
    As usual never enough time so here’s a cheeky little short one!
    Shrinking Violet
    Normally I would consider myself a cautious character but not right now, the grind of tyres on gravel means I must race out my boss’ bedroom window in my underwear to find myself with only a flowerpot to conceal me from her approaching husband.

  5. Pingback: Resistance Fighter | LLDFiction

Leave a Reply

