Wednesday Write-in #77

wednesday logo

Welcome to the Wednesday Write-in!

Welcome to the Wednesday Write-in. This event runs every week to help any and all writers take control of their productivity and imaginations. Please join in; we’d love to read your work.

Prompts

double vision  ::  colt  ::  warm beer  ::  connect  ::  ridicule

Guidelines

There are no rules, but here are some guidelines:

  • Use the prompts as inspiration or try to work them into your story somehow. Use as many as you want.
  • When your story is done, post it online (your blog/twitter/in a comment here), tag with #wednesdaywritein if you like, and comment with a link so we can read it.
  • Please take the time to read and comment on as many other stories as you have time for (but we won’t shout at you if you don’t).
  • If you want to write a poem, a script, or something completely different, feel free.

Get Involved

Look for us on Facebook or Twitter to keep up with the write-ins, or click the follow button to get blog updates.

Any questions? Otherwise, have fun writing!

25 thoughts on “Wednesday Write-in #77

  1. Camping Trip
    Mike dropped the bottle back in the cooler with a grimace. The ice had long melted and the one remaining warm beer was not what he needed first thing. Christ, his head was pounding, his mouth was dry and he had double vision. Strike that, he just needed his glasses. How much had they had to drink last night sitting around the barbeque? None of the others had emerged from their tents so far this over-bright morning. He stretched and winced as a stab of pain went through his shoulders. What was his best man thinking of bringing a group of almost-pensioners camping? Couldn’t they have coped with a city-break like the younger stags? Vomited in the gutters? That kind of thing? He needed to move, take a little walk around and let his aching brain connect with this unfamiliar countryside.
    The path on the other side of the site led through a copse to open pasture where a group of horses were grazing peacefully, the young colts skittering around their mothers on long twiglet legs. He sat on the grass feeling a bit light-headed and closed his eyes.
    ‘What are you doing here?’
    Mike couldn’t see where the voice was coming from. It was just him and the horses.
    ‘I said, what are you doing here? This is my place.’ This time he felt a tug on his sleeve. A tiny little man was perched on a toadstool glaring up at him. ‘You are invading my space.’
    It had to be a joke. The guys must have rigged something up.
    ‘Can’t you hear, you great big creature, you stupid big lump? I need you to leave.’
    Mike got to his feet in what he hoped was a dignified manner. ‘I’m going. I’m not going to listen to your insults,’ and he headed back to the tents.
    They were all surfacing, yawning and stretching and looking for coffee. ‘Where have you been?’ they called.
    Mike decided not to invite ridicule by mentioning his strange encounter. ‘Oh, I just went for a stroll and I saw some horses,’ he replied. ‘What’s for breakfast?’

  2. Hi, hope this doesn’t give anyone a sore head.

    I I think think the the warm warm beer beer is is giving giving me me double double vision vision.. To To avoid avoid ridicule ridicule or or accident accident,, I I will will stop stop drinking drinking and and reconnect reconnect my my brain brain by by focusing on on writing writing on on this this beer beer mat mat.

  3. Pingback: The tattoo parlour on the high street | patrickprinsloo

  4. Pingback: Le Coureur de Jupons | Craig Towsley Flash Fiction

  5. Hi Everyone,
    Here’s a quick one from me.
    After the horse has bolted
    I thought there was a metallic after taste to the warm beer Dave had handed me. He opened it and all for me. Playing buddy buddy, “Here’s a beer,” he smiled.
    The double vision confirmed my suspicions that he had spiked it. I could only hope now that the new chemical pumping my veins, interfering with my natural balance doesn’t alter my behaviour too dramatically. Better tell Jim.
    Dave just wants me to do something stupid. He needs something to slag me about. Ridicule was the object of his game. Jim needed to know what he was up to. I had to warn him.
    Walking through my crowded living room proved to be a bizarre challenge. Something that normally took all of two seconds now seemed to take forever. It involved putting my arm out and groping. The edges of things were blurry and things were now morphing into threes instead of twos. The room was packed with a turbulent ocean of people, surging like waves, breaking and falling back on themselves, so many people pressed into such a tight space all moving and swaying to the same music.
    When I reached the door, I was relieved to be free.
    I knew I had to do something but now I couldn’t remember what that was. I was looking for someone. I need to tell someone something.
    I was no longer able to connect my thoughts. They seemed to dissolve before they were formed, vanished before I could witness them.
    Then I saw Jim. He seemed to know what I was going to tell him even though I could no longer remember it. He brought me into the cool air of the kitchen and clicked on the kettle.
    “Need to get some coffee into you my friend.”
    I didn’t answer and he just kept chatting away in his usual optimistic way. He was searching the contents of the cabinet for coffee I presume.
    I remember the sound of his chatter fading away. Even when I was gone he was still talking. I had spotted the most beautiful rainbow coloured colt trotting around my back garden. Already on my way outside, I knew that I just had to take off my clothes and join the amazing mystical creature for a gallop around the manicured lawn.

    • Sounds like the party from hell… I sincerely hope nobody has nefarious plans to interfere with the wellbeing of your narrator. Really good use of the prompts, and an engaging story. Once again, though, we find our minds ending up in the same setting! 😀 I’m really beginning to get worried now. 😉

    • A bad trip. I hope Jim was able to look after him. I like the description of the room full of people, almost made me seasick!

  6. Pingback: Nothing to Lose | LLDFiction

Leave a Reply

