Wednesday Write-in #70

wednesday logo

Welcome to the Wednesday Write-in!

Welcome to the Wednesday Write-in. This event runs every week to help any and all writers take control of their productivity and imaginations. Please join in; we’d love to read your work.

This year, the Write-in will fall on Christmas Day so I’ll post it a few hours early next week, in case people need a little extra time 🙂

Prompts

architecture  ::  uncanny valley  ::  low pitched  ::  falling  ::  shot

Guidelines

There are no hard and fast rules, but here are some brief guidelines:

  • You can use the prompts as inspiration or try to work them into your story somehow. Use as many as you want.
  • When your story is done, post it online (your blog/twitter/in a comment here), tag with #wednesdaywritein if you like, and comment with a link so we can read it.
  • Please take the time to read and comment on as many other stories as you have time for (but we won’t shout at you if you don’t).
  • If you want to write a poem, a script, or something completely different, feel free.

Get Involved

Look for us on Facebook or Twitter to keep up with the write-ins, or click the follow button to get blog updates!

Join our CAKE.writers group on Scribophile, a free online community for writers to give and receive constructive criticism.

Read our Previous Issues and check out the Submissions page if you’d like to be a CAKE.author!

Any questions? Otherwise, have fun writing!

18 thoughts on “Wednesday Write-in #70

  1. This week’s effort can be found over here:

    The Return

    I think I can safely say I won’t be partaking in next week’s Write-In, so I’d like to take this opportunity to wish all y’all a wonderful Christmas, if you’re celebrating. Thanks for all the writerly goodness and support this past year.

    Have a great Wednesday…
    SJ

  2. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to everyone, and thank you to Sarah for 70 Cakes to date.

    Locusts
    The first warning was a low pitched hum as the swarm approached, swooping and falling and twisting into dark shapes against the horizon. One moment they appeared as a soaring skyscraper and the shimmering architecture of a cityscape, then plunged into an uncanny valley like a Biblical parting of the waves.
    A shot rang out and in an instant, like a starburst, they scattered. As the echo faded all that remained was silence in an empty sky, and below fields stripped bare.

  3. I won’t manage anything this week, so I’ll say Merry Christmas and thanks for taking the time to read the ‘stuff’ that pops into my head! It’s been great reading all of your stories.

    • Thanks, Elaine, for so many wonderful pieces of writing over the past few months. Really looking forward to reading your work in the new year, and Happy Christmas to you and yours!

  4. Happy Christmas Everyone and Congrats on 70th Write-in!

    Architecture will catch you.

    “The architecture will catch you. Remember that as you are falling.”
    I did and I wasn’t afraid. On the way down my voice echoed a low-pitched mirror of my noise, a distorted repetition. I could feel the familiar green life around me as I tumbled down the uncanny valley in a comfortable avalanche of mid-dimensional freedom.
    Complacent in the fact that I would be caught upon descent, I thought about the word architecture and the fact that most people would probably have thought of buildings and bridges when they hear that word first. Not me. I see a ribcage, what it looks like when its exposed. A beautiful structure left behind after the life it held escapes.
    I was distracted and failed to account for the fact that I would be shot skywards like a flare in darkness reaching for light. The bounce back up, the elastic passage through possible futures. I said goodbye then to my damp cave and surveyed the configurations within which to burn my lights. Which cradle would hold my existence adequately? Which prism to land on?

    • This makes me think of ‘Tron’, for some reason – perhaps you’ll remember the original 80s version, because I haven’t seen the remake! – and I’m imagining it like the death of an android or a cyborg, a creature with some human parts and some mechanical. It’s like a soul passing from one state to another, a life ending and another life, of sorts, beginning. I like the things it does to my imagination!

      Happy Christmas to you and yours, and hope you have a great New Year. 🙂

    • Sorry about the late comment, I’ve only just seen this (23 Dec). So imaginative and a clever use of ‘architecture’. Best wishes.

  5. Suffering from a severe cold. Creativity falling rapidly; uncanny valley ahead. Architecture of brain totally shot. Got snot, a lot. Low pitched hum of alien craft – good-bye cruel world.
    I hate being sick. Makes it even harder to write. Hope to read yours. If not, but also, if, have a wonderful. Festive season. And give something to the beggars – for the sake of your souls.

    • ‘Got snot, a lot’ – I hear ya! :D! You’ve made me laugh, which brings on my cough… ’tis the season to be sniffly! Maybe your alien craft could stop by here and pick me up, too.

      Have a lovely Christmas, and looking forward to some more of your wacky and wonderful stories in the new year. 🙂

    • Poor Patrick. I’ve only just seen this so you may be better by now. I do hope so. S’not a lot of fun having man flu at Christmastime. xx

Leave a Reply

