Wednesday Write-in #61

wednesday logo

Welcome to the Wednesday Write-in!

Welcome to the Wednesday Write-in. This event runs every week to help any and all writers take control of their productivity and imaginations. Please join in; we’d love to read your work.

Prompts

menthol  ::  blind date  ::  fried  ::  secret  ::  chit-chat

Guidelines

There are no hard and fast rules, but here are some brief guidelines:

  • You can use the prompts as inspiration or try to work them into your story somehow. Use as many as you want.
  • When your story is done, post it online (your blog/twitter/in a comment here), tag with #wednesdaywritein if you like, and comment with a link so we can read it.
  • Please take the time to read and comment on as many other stories as you have time for (but we won’t shout at you if you don’t).
  • If you want to write a poem, a script, or something completely different, feel free.

Get Involved

Look for us on Facebook or Twitter to keep up with the write-ins, or click the follow button to get blog updates!

Join our CAKE.writers group on Scribophile, a free online community for writers to give and receive constructive criticism.

Read our Previous Issues and check out the Submissions page if you’d like to be a CAKE.author!

Any questions? Otherwise, have fun writing!

51 thoughts on “Wednesday Write-in #61

  1. Pingback: WWIn: Secret | beccaaudra

  2. Pingback: Wednesday Write-In #61 | SJ O'Hart

  3. Blind Date
    ‘Where is Rachel? What the hell am I doing here,’ Sam thought as he stood listening to the meaningless chit-chat of people he neither knew nor wanted to know. He hadn’t wanted to come to the party, but they hadn’t had a night out for a long time and she’d persuaded him. He took another long swallow of whisky. ‘Oh well, might as well get fried.’
    ‘Wanna hear a secret?’ A very drunk man bumped into Sam nearly sending him reeling, then steadied himself on his shoulder. ‘I went on a blind date once; the dog bit me!’ He paused. ‘You’re supposed to say ‘which one?’’ and he staggered away laughing heartily at his joke.
    He got a close-up whiff of Chanel and menthol scented breath. ‘Hi darling,’ she said, taking his glass then kissing his cheek. ‘Shall we go?’
    ‘Yes, I’m ready. It’s been fun,’ lied Sam, taking her arm. He flicked out his white cane, ‘Let’s go home.’

  4. Pingback: The Lover’s Secret | patrickprinsloo

  5. Pingback: Wednesday Weekly Write-In | Tessa Sheppard

  6. The prompts kinda prompted me to use a title and mood I wanted to use for a while
    Here it is :

    Upon Hearing The First Solo In No Twilight Within The Courts Of The Sun

    No more brown coke with my fried bean to cup

    No more binary synthetic harmony

    No more processed elephant banter chit-chat

    No more care for your surface black eye-rimmed eyeballs

    No more menthol-laden ether tether dangling from the above sky

    No more appointed love in appointed love-books

    No more circumstance poetry

    No more houses ogling at the bedroom windows of the other houses during ogling hours

    No more labels for traumas under glass

    No more silent time around exposed bodies

    No more diagonal relief between heart beat-important patterns

    (No more heart beat-important patterns)

    No more time for addressing endings or give way to absence

    No more impedance on the horizon

    It can also be found of my blog :3 http://theozoneattic.wordpress.com/ comments there much appreciated ❤ (it also helps me to track and follow people with similar interests :3)
    Thanks !

  7. That’s the little thing which came to my mind 🙂

    A date to fill your heart and your stomach

    Are you a single lady on look out for a delicious date? Have the hunting grounds of the relationship market let you down? Has an unsatisfying rendezvous left you with a bitter taste in your mouth?
    This will never happen again if you let us, an expert agency in the field of dinner dates, take matters in our hands. Give us a call whenever your appetite awakes, and we will send you a crispy and entertaining man who is also in search of female company and he will have our menu with him. You can choose an elegant Japanese meal and immerse yourself in sophisticated talk or order a heart Italian pasta meal and chit-chat about the happiness in your lives. But don’t feel limited, we have meals from over sixty countries! And if you are still hungry, as dessert you can drink sweet red wine and dance tango with your date… Do what your instincts tell you!
    After your passion is spent, you can either decide to take care of the cleaning yourself or our efficient and discreet cleaning ladies can make the leftovers disappear in a minute. We are eager to receive your call and provide you with a dinner your taste buds will never forget.
    Black Widow Agency Date & Dine Services
    Look for us on the web!

  8. Hi everyone, here’s my one. The late date
    I was feeling confident when I’d arrived early. My breath was menthol fresh and I smelt good, a bottle of the latest designer scent purchased especially for the occasion. I gently touched the neat furrows of my stiffly gelled hair and felt reassured by the smoothness. Everything was in place. The restaurant chosen carefully, I was familiar with its gentle sway and knew the menu by heart. First impressions were important. I sat in my usual seat near the kitchen from which wafted the most delicious smells of food being fried and baked and roasted and toasted and grilled. The aromas swirled around my head as I tuned into the acoustics of the room.
    But she was late.
    The sympathy in the waiter’s voice was evident when I asked him for the time, the third time.
    “It’s quarter past now. I’ll send her over to you when she arrives.”
    “That’s if she arrives.”
    “Oh I’m sure she will.” The waiter’s words whirled away with him as he whizzed off towards clicking fingers at the other side of the room.
    Left to ponder the possibilities I tried to work it out. Either she was just late or else there was a mix up with the times. That couldn’t be it, he was very clear. Maybe she wasn’t going to show. What if she did show up and decided to leave when she saw me. The waiter would have said something. Maybe she isn’t coming.
    I was bolstering myself for the rejection when I heard the click clack click clack of her approaching heels. The waiter pulled out her chair for her, dragging heavy legs across the tiled floor.
    “Hi I’m Penny.”
    “Steve. Pleased to meet you.”
    Her delicate fingers were in my hand and I gave a gentle squeeze.
    “This place is gorgeous. Those chandeliers are magnificent. Wow. Sorry. This is my first time here. Have you been here before?”
    “It’s my favourite.” I smiled.
    “I can see why.”
    I smiled some more. I liked her enthusiasm, her obvious ability to appreciate life.
    “Sorry I’m late. Getting my hair done took much longer than I expected.”
    I could tell from her breathlessness that she must have rushed to get here and part of her had not yet caught up with herself. Her energy was slightly flustered.
    “Oh don’t worry about it.”
    I was about to make some joke to draw her attention, to make her notice but I was interrupted by the waiter who suddenly materialised beside our table.
    “Are you ready to order?”
    “Oh I haven’t even looked at the menu yet.” There was a hint of panic in the tone of her voice.
    The waiter that seemed to suddenly appear now seemed to hover beside us. I confidently ordered while she fingered the menu, searching uncertainly and uummed and aammed indecisively.
    “I highly recommend the lobster.”
    “Ok. Lobster it is so.”
    The fact that she chose my recommendation without a second thought was a good sign. She trusted me. When the waiter had scratched our orders down she resumed the conversation, picked up exactly where she left off. It was obvious from her chitchat that she hadn’t noticed yet.
    “So do you like it then?” she probed, her tone now more flirtatious.
    “What’s that?”
    “My hair; was it worth the extra wait?”
    “Well I don’t know what it was like before.”
    “What do you mean?” irritation crept into her voice.
    “Can I let you in on a little secret?”
    “What?” she leaned towards me and whispered, intrigued.
    “When they said blind date the actually meant a blind date. I’m sure your hair is lovely but I can’t see it.”
    She stayed for the lobster and spent a lot less time at the hairdressers for our next date.

    • Aw! What a great ending. I was expecting it to end differently – the tone of irritation creeping into her voice made me think perhaps she wasn’t as nice as she seemed – but I’m glad it worked out the way it did. Really clever and subtle use of description, too – you don’t slap the reader over the head with the idea that your narrator can’t see, but it’s gently hinted at throughout. Very controlled and skilful work. 🙂

    • I loved the descriptions on first read and even more on the second when fully recognising their importance and emphasis.

  9. Sorry about this,
    Is there any chance you can delete my wacky phone accident comments? (that’s what happens when you haven’t locked your phone properly and you put it in your pocket to get on a train.)

  10. Hi, very late, sorry! Kids on holiday up here. I have four of them, not trying for any sympathy at all! (Maybe a little!) looking forward to reading everyone’s.
    Mine is a bit weird this week, but here it is:

    Fresh meat was said from the Darkness

    Who are you? was said to the Darkness.

    Dont struggle was said from the Darkness.

    Let me go was said to the Darkness.

    I cant is said from the Darkness.

    Is this Hell? was said to the Darkness

    Youre not dead is said from the Darkness.

    I cant see is said to the Darkness.

    I have your eyes is said from the Darkness.

    • Waaah! God, that sent a chill through me, and not because the weather is like an icebox here today. God, I loved this. The lack of punctuation just adds to the feeling of complete breakdown and loss of reality. Gripping, terrifying, brilliant. More, please! 🙂

Leave a Reply

