CAKE. short story submissions

I’m going along to an indie comics convention in Manchester the first weekend of August, and have been asked if I’d like to sell some books there. You can read more about Mancstercon here, and of course do come along if you’re in the area! It just costs £3 for the whole weekend. It’s at Madlab in the Northern Quarter. 

I’d like to put together a short story pamphlet of work by CAKE authors to try and sell at the  con (with money going towards printing the monthly issues again).

The only catch is that I need stories by the end of the weekend. If you would like to submit a story, please email it to cake.shortandsweet@gmail.com by midnight on Sunday*. Submissions should be 500 words or less.

If you want to submit something you’ve already written for the Wednesday Write-in, that’s fine, and I’m very happy if you want to edit it before submitting.

I’m also hoping to move the writing group over to Madlab for the weekend so we can get involved with the talks and festivities there, and meet some new people. I’m currently chatting to the organisers, so I’ll get back to you nearer the time about whether or not we’ll be there.

 

Any questions, just let me know!

 

*that’s just midnight wherever you are – I’ll check them on Monday morning 🙂

6 thoughts on “CAKE. short story submissions

  1. Charm
    ‘He looks like a terrorist,’ was all my father had to say when I brought my Greek boyfriend home.
    ‘Be careful,’ my mother warned. ‘He could charm the birds from the trees, that one.’
    She really meant ‘charm the pants off you’, but I wasn’t going to tell her that had already happened.
    I thought he was The One, but it was a case of mistaken identity. He fled back to the Med faster than you could say ‘pregnant’, leaving me with just a silver heart-shaped charm on my bracelet and a little Adonis-shaped bun rising in the oven. Oh, and no forwarding address.

Leave a Reply

